
 

The Law in the State of Minnesota 
on Mandated Reporting 

 
Minnesota Law specifically provides immunity from civil or 
criminal penalties for MANDATED OR VOLUNTARY reports of 
suspected abuse or neglect made in good faith.  Schools who 
permit access to law enforcement or child protection officials to 
assist in investigations are protected as well.   

 Minn. Stat. Section 
626.556, Subd. 4. 
 

YOU CANNOT 
 BE SUED  

FOR A GOOD 
FAITH REPORT! 

 

YOU CAN ONLY 
GET IN TROUBLE  

FOR NOT 
REPORTING! 

MANDATEDMANDATEDMANDATED   
REPORTINGREPORTINGREPORTING   

   
   

What Professionals 
Need to Know   

Who will the children tell? 
Janelle P. Kendall 

Stearns County Attorney 
705 Courthouse Square 

St. Cloud, MN 56303-4701 
Phone: 320-656-3880 

Fax: 320-656-6695 
 

Who is mandated to report?  
Teachers, paraprofessionals, all administration, and support 
staff in an educational setting. 
 

Why is reporting required? 
Kids can’t protect themselves and will seek help for bad 
situations from people they believe can or will help them.  
People in helping professions are therefore legally 
protected and required to intervene when they have reason 
to believe a child is being abused or neglected.  
 

What should I report? 
If you know or have reason to believe 
that a child is being abused or neglected 
or that this has happened within the 
prior 3 years, you must call Law 
Enforcement or Human Services. You 
can only report what you know, and the 
age or identity of the perpetrator is not 
necessary. You need a good faith, 
honest belief that abuse or neglect is 
occurring. 
 

How and where do I report? 
Verbally within 24 hours, and in writing within 72 hours to 
either Law Enforcement or Human Services.  
 

What information should I report? 
Your contact information, the child’s name, age and 
address, contact information for the child’s parents, the 
name of the perpetrator, if known, and as much 
information as the child shared, using the child’s words 
when possible. It will also be helpful to provide any 
information you have about the child’s language, siblings, 
risks, any observations of past concern, any interventions 
you are aware of, any special needs or limitations, the 
child’s demeanor, school performance/attendance, attitude, 
any actions which have already been taken, and who, if 
anyone else, you’ve told. 
 

DO NOT call the child’s parents yourself!   
Leave this to the professionals who investigate the report. 
Your only responsibility is to report the situation to Law 
Enforcement or Human Services. If the parent is the 
perpetrator or tells the perpetrator of the report, the child 
could be in danger and/or the investigation will be 
irreparably harmed. The law protects you—make the report 
and let Law Enforcement or Human Services handle the 
rest. 

The Basics for School 
Mandated Reporters 

A person mandated to report who knows or has reason to 
believe a child is or has been neglected or physically or 
sexually abused and fails to report is guilty of a crime! 
 
You CANNOT BE SUED FOR REPORTING! It’s possible, 
however, that if you DON’T report and something happens 
after you could have, you could be sued (plus prosecuted) 
for failing to report! 
 

Worst of all—if you could have prevented harm to a child 
who came to you for help—and you didn’t help—how would 
you feel? 

What if I don’t report? 
  

Failure to report is a crime! 

Janelle P. Kendall 
Stearns County Attorney 
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Get the facts:  
Take the fear out of protecting 

students! 



How do I handle the 
child’s report? 

 LISTEN. The child will carefully gauge your 

reaction—so just listen supportively. 
 

 REMAIN CALM. Let 

the child tell you what 
happened. Find a quiet 
setting, if possible. 

 

 NEVER ASK A 

CHILD A LEADING 
OR POINTED 
QUESTION THAT MAY SUGGEST AN 
ANSWER. (Example: Your uncle did this to 

you, didn’t he?) Ask open-ended questions or 
make simple statements. (Examples: Tell me 
what happened; when or where did this 
happen; have you told anyone else?)   

 

 DO NOT PRESS FOR DETAILS. Obtain 

basic information, then make your report. 
 

 DON’T PROMISE YOU WON’T TELL 

ANYONE ELSE, OR MAKE PROMISES 
ABOUT THE FUTURE. You don’t want to 

lose credibility or create expectations.   
 

 DON’T MAKE STATEMENTS JUDGING 

THE SITUATION. The perpetrator may be 

someone the child loves and the child may not 
realize that there is anything “wrong” with the 
conduct. 

 

 MAKE A VERBAL REPORT TO LAW 

ENFORCEMENT OR HUMAN SERVICES 
WITHIN 24 HOURS, and a written report 
within 72 hours. 

Why is reporting difficult? 

You may be afraid of what will happen if you 
report and you may be asking yourself:   
 
 What if I’m wrong (or not)? 
 What if the report “destroys” the family? 

(What if it’s already destroyed and you could 
help prevent further damage?) 

 What if there is retaliation? (The abuser 
won’t know who you are until much later in 
the process, if ever, and retaliation RARELY 
occurs.)  

 This is really none of my business…. (To the 
contrary, the law makes this your business, 
and you could be prosecuted and jailed for 
not reporting.) 

 No one will know if I just keep quiet. (Don’t 
count on it...the child may seek help 
elsewhere and tell the person who does help 
them that you didn’t.) 

 

What happens after a 
report is made? 

Law Enforcement and Human 
Services do a joint 
investigation, which may be 
traditional (serious allegations) 
or family-strength based 
(family assessment).  They will 
collect information from many  
sources and may also take a 
formal “statement” from you. 
You will be notified of the 
outcome of the investigation. 

You can’t predict how a child 
will tell… 

 The report commonly comes out in 
pieces, as the child gauges your 
reaction. If the child feels believed, and 
if it’s safe to tell more, the child will 
continue or come back 
with more 
information. 

 

 The child may not 

understand there is 
anything “wrong” with 
what’s happening. 

 may tell because it’s starting to hurt 
 may tell out of concern for someone else 
 may tell because the threats are not 

working anymore, and it’s worth the risk 
to tell 

 
 If you overhear something “by accident,” the 

child may not be ready to tell an adult yet, 
and may deny a problem if you ask. Don’t be 
surprised if that child then approaches you 
later and makes the report of what you heard 
anyway. 

 
 Kids are also afraid they’ll be “taken away,” 

and were likely chosen because of their 
trusting relationship with the perpetrator. Be 
aware of their love, respect and/or need for 
the perpetrator in your reaction to what they 
have to tell you. 

 

 

REPORTING IS A PROCESS, 
NOT A ONE-TIME EVENT. 

 
When you are 
afraid of what 
will happen, 
consider how 

hard it was for 
the child to seek 

help! 


